Bill Nye's favorite books

  • Angle of Repose

    Angle of Repose

    Wallace Stegner
    Fiction

    Stegner's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel is the story of four generations in the life of an American family. A wheelchair-bound retired historian embarks on a monumental quest: to come to know his grandparents, now long dead. The unfolding drama of the story of the American West sets the tone for Stegner's masterpiece.

    Buy on Amazon

    It is about human stories intertwined, just like your life and mine.

     — Source

  • The Hockey Stick and the Climate Wars

    changed the way most of us understood the natural history of Earth.

     — Source

  • Hillbilly Elegy

    Hillbilly Elegy

    J. D. Vance
    A Memoir
    Social Science

    Buy on Amazon

    I hope J.D. Vances story will help us learn to work together

     — Source

  • Carry On, Mr. Bowditch

    Carry On, Mr. Bowditch

    Jean Lee Latham
    Juvenile Fiction

    After finding a way to teach the ship's crew members to understand navigation, Nat, a self-taught mathematician and astronomer in eighteenth-century Salem, Massachusetts, writes down his explanations and compiles them into "The American Practical Navigator," also known as the "Sailors' Bible."

    Buy on Amazon

    He inspired me as kid — he still does.

     — Source

  • Cosmos

    Cosmos

    Carl Sagan
    Science

    Presents an illustrated guide to the universe and to Earth's relationship to it, moving from theories of creation to humankind's discovery of the cosmos, to general relativity, to space missions, and beyond.

    Buy on Amazon

    Cosmos is the story of my other hero, Carl Sagan.

     — Source

  • The Elements of Style

    It\'s brilliant.

     — Source

  • Born Standing Up

    Born Standing Up

    Steve Martin
    A Comic's Life
    Biography & Autobiography

    Steve Martin has been an international star for over thirty years. Here, for the first time, he looks back to the beginning of his career and charmingly evokes the young man he once was. Born in Texas but raised in California, Steve was seduced early by the comedy shows that played on the radio when the family travelled back and forth to visit relatives. When Disneyland opened just a couple of miles away from home, an enchanted Steve was given his first chance to learn magic and entertain an audience. He describes how he noted the reaction to each joke in a ledger - 'big laugh' or 'quiet' - and assiduously studied the acts of colleagues, stealing jokes when needed. With superb detail, Steve recreates the world of small, dark clubs and the fear and exhilaration of standing in the spotlight. While a philosophy student at UCLA, he worked hard at local clubs honing his comedy and slowly attracting a following until he was picked up to write for TV. From here on, Steve Martin became an acclaimed comedian, packing out venues nationwide. One night, however, he noticed empty seats and realised he had 'reached the top of the rollercoaster'. BORN STANDING UP is a funny and riveting chronicle of how Steve Martin became the comedy genius we now know and is also a fascinating portrait of an era.

    Buy on Amazon

    This is the story of my hero. The guy who inspired me to do what I do now.

     — Source

  • Fundamentals of Modern Physics

    When I learned the fundamentals of physics, my view of the world and life itself was changed forever.

     — Source

  • The Physics of Baseball

    A book that provides us with words to live and play by.

     — Source

  • Code Girls

    Code Girls

    Liza Mundy
    The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II (Young Readers Edition)
    Juvenile Nonfiction

    In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II. More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking. Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now. Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.

    Buy on Amazon

    the story of the remarkable women...who served our country

     — Source